ALL PROJECTS

optiPBR

Sensor platform against contamination in microalgae plants

Breakthroughs in the cultivation of microalgae on an industrial scale are being held back by the microbial load of bacteria and protozoa. Lack of detection capabilities and slow offline analytics lead to delayed countermeasures. This severely limits productivity. This is where the “optiPBR” project comes in.

The exact title is: Joint project: “Optical soft sensors for algae cultivation in large-scale photobioreactors – optimisation through process control and combating microbial contamination (OptiPBR) – Subproject: “Combating microbial contamination in large-scale photobioreactors”.

Scientists from various institutes are working together to develop a sensor platform based on new photonic measurement technology. Based on the new detection techniques, the Institute for Food and Environmental Research (ILU) e.V. will develop measures that are effective against a variety of microbial contamination. To this end, a cascade of simultaneous changes in various parameters will be tested. With the help of models, novel countermeasures and control technology, an optical soft sensor system will be developed that is specially optimised for use in biotechnological systems and enables automation. The main innovation of the sub-project is a method for species-independent control of microbial contamination. This ultimately achieves the overall goal of “optiPBR”: to optimise the processes and procedures within large-scale PBR in near real time and to increase the production yields of a high-quality biomass.

PROJECT DURATION:

15.11.2021-14.11.2024

PROJECT SPONSOR:

Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF), Photonics Research Germany - Light with a Future

GRANT-NUMBER-PN:

13N1584

PROJECT MANAGER:

Apl. Prof. Dr. Daniel Pleissner

PROJECT PARTNER:

Algoliner GmbH & Co. KG; SOPAT GmbH; Hansgeorg Münch; Universität Potsdam, Institut für Chemie

PROJEKTÜBERSICHT

optiPBR

Sensorplattform gegen Kontaminationen in Mikroalgen-Anlagen

Der Durchbruch in der Kultivierung von Mikroalgen im industriellen Maßstab wird von der mikrobiellen Belastung durch Bakterien und Protozoen zurückgehalten. Fehlende Erkennungsmöglichkeiten und langsame offline Analytik führen zu verzögerten Gegenmaßnahmen. Das schränkt die Produktivität stark ein. Das Projekt „optiPBR“ setzt hier an.

Der genaue Titel lautet: Verbundprojekt: „Optische Softsensorik von Algenkultivierungen in großskaligen Photobioreaktoren – Optimierung durch Prozessführung und Bekämpfung mikrobieller Belastungen (OptiPBR) –  Teilvorhaben: „Bekämpfung mikrobieller Belastungen in großskaligen Photobioreaktoren“

Im Verbund entwickeln Wissenschaftler verschiedener Institute eine Sensorplattform aus neuer photonischer Messtechnik. Aufbauend auf den neuen Erkennungstechniken sollen durch das Institut für Lebensmittel- und Umweltforschung (ILU) e.V. Maßnahmen entwickelt werden, die gegen eine Vielzahl von mikrobiellen Belastungen wirken. Dafür wird eine Kaskade von gleichzeitigen Änderungen verschiedener Parameter getestet. Mit Hilfe von Modellen, neuartigen Gegenmaßnahmen und Reglungstechnik wird im Verbund so eine optische Softsensorik aufgebaut, die speziell für den Einsatz in biotechnologischen Systemen optimiert ist und eine Automatisierung ermöglicht. Die wesentliche Innovation des Teilvorhabens ist ein Verfahren zur speziesunabhängigen Bekämpfung mikrobieller Belastungen. Damit wird letztendlich das Gesamtziel von „optiPBR“ erreicht: die Prozesse und Abläufe innerhalb großskalierter PBR in nahezu Echtzeit zu optimieren und die Produktionserträge einer hochwertigen Biomasse zu erhöhen.

PROJEKTLAUFZEIT:

15.11.2021-14.11.2024

PROJEKTFÖRDERUNG:

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF), Photonik Forschung Deutschland – Licht mit Zukunft

FÖRDERKENNZEICHEN:

13N1584

PROJEKTLEITUNG:

Apl. Prof. Dr. Daniel Pleissner

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER:

Algoliner GmbH & Co. KG; SOPAT GmbH; Hansgeorg Münch; Universität Potsdam, Institut für Chemie