ALL PROJECTS

Acrylamide

Technological minimisation strategies of acrylamide in bakery products with special vegetable ingredients

Acrylamide is considered carcinogenic and should therefore be avoided as far as possible. It is formed during the dry heating of carbohydrate-rich foods, especially starchy foods. Acrylamide is mainly formed during the reaction of the amino acid asparagine and reducing sugars such as glucose. Low water content and high temperature are favourable, which is particularly the case in the production of baked goods.
Acrylamide is also produced during the baking of special products that are refined with vegetable ingredients, such as baked goods with potatoes, carrots, olives, sunflower seeds and roasted onions. In Germany alone, about 100,000 tonnes of such products are produced, about two per cent of the total baked goods production. It is known that the special ingredients favour the formation of acrylamide compared to standard baked goods. Preliminary studies showed that these refined products significantly exceed the EU guideline values for acrylamide of 50 μg/kg for wheat bread and 100 μg/kg for non-wheat bread (Regulation (EU) 2017/2158).
The aim of this research project is to develop a successful strategy to minimise acrylamide in bakery products with special vegetable ingredients.

Important for SMEs
Speciality bakery products are of growing importance and offer small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in particular the opportunity to position themselves in the market. The research results of this project enable these companies to maintain and expand their product portfolio without exceeding the established guideline values for acrylamide. Compliance with the guideline values is essential for the quality and safety of the goods, and is also a prerequisite for these products to be distributed by retailers.
The Institute for Food and Environmental Research (ILU) is participating in this project. The scientists are investigating the contents of starch, short-chain carbohydrates and free amino acids in the special ingredients and how these affect the formation of acrylamide. Similar tests are being carried out for the secondary plant substances. By regulating temperature and yeast fermentation, the ILU staff want to reduce the acrylamide content in baking experiments in a very practical way. In addition, the institute analyses how the special ingredients, for example carrot pieces and potato flakes, influence the acrylamide content. For example, it evaluates which substances migrate into the dough and to what degree.

Source for this text: Communication/project application FEI

 

PROJECT DURATION:

01.11.2021 bis 31.10.2023

PROJECT SPONSOR:

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Protection (BMWi) via (AiF)/(FEI)

GRANT-NUMBER-PN:

AiF 22209 BG

PROJECT MANAGER:

Alexander Voß (Dipl.-Ing)

PROJECT PARTNER:

University of Hohenheim, Technical University of Munich, Association of German Industrial Bakeries

PROJEKTÜBERSICHT

Acrylamid in Backwaren

Technologische Minimierungsstrategien von Acrylamid in Backwaren mit pflanzlichen Spezialzutaten

Acrylamid gilt als krebserregend und soll deshalb möglichst vermieden werden. Es entsteht bei der trockenen Erhitzung von kohlenhydratreichen, insbesondere stärkehaltigen Lebensmitteln. Vor allem bildet sich Acrylamid bei der Reaktion der Aminosäure Asparagin und reduzierenden Zuckern, wie Glucose. Begünstigend sind ein niedriger Wassergehalt und eine hohe Temperatur, was besonders bei der Herstellung von Backwaren gegeben ist.
Acrylamid entsteht auch beim Backen von Spezialprodukten, die mit pflanzlichen Zutaten veredelt werden, wie Backwaren mit Kartoffeln, Karotten, Oliven, Sonnenblumenkernen und Röstzwiebeln. Allein in Deutschland werden etwa 100.000 Tonnen solcher Produkte produziert, etwa zwei Prozent der gesamten Backwarenproduktion. Es ist bekannt, dass die Spezialzutaten im Vergleich zu Standardbackwaren die Bildung von Acrylamid begünstigen. Voruntersuchungen zeigten, dass diese veredelten Produkte die in der EU festgelegten Richtwerte für Acrylamid von 50 μg/kg für Weizenbrot und 100 μg/kg für Nichtweizenbrot deutlich überschreiten (Verordnung (EU) 2017/2158).
Ziel dieses Forschungsvorhabens ist es, eine erfolgreiche Strategie zu entwickeln, um Acrylamid in Backwaren mit pflanzlichen Spezialzutaten zu minimieren.

Wichtig für KMU
Spezialbackwaren haben eine wachsende Bedeutung und bieten insbesondere kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen (KMU) die Möglichkeit, sich am Markt zu positionieren. Die Forschungsergebnisse dieses Projektes ermöglichen es diesen Unternehmen, ihr Produktportfolio zu halten und auszubauen, ohne die festgelegten Richtwerte für Acrylamid zu überschreiten. Die Einhaltung der Richtwerte ist essenziell für die Qualität und Sicherheit der Waren, zudem eine Voraussetzung dafür, dass diese Produkte vom Handel vertrieben werden.
Das Institut für Lebensmittel- und Umweltforschung (ILU) beteiligt sich an diesem Projekt. Die Wissenschaftler und Wissenschaftlerinnen untersuchen die Gehalte an Stärke, kurzkettigen Kohlenhydraten und freien Aminosäuren in den Spezialzutaten und wie sich diese auf die Bildung von Acrylamid auswirken. Ähnliches wird für die sekundären Pflanzenstoffe geprüft. Mit dem Regulieren von Temperatur und Hefefermentation wollen die ILU-Mitarbeiter in Backversuchen ganz praktisch den Gehalt an Acrylamid reduzieren. Außerdem analysiert das Institut wie die Spezialzutaten, zum Beispiel Karottenstücke und Kartoffelflocken, den Gehalt am Acrylamid beeinflussen. Beispielsweise wird bewertet, welche Stoffe in welchem Grad in den Teig übergehen (migrieren).

Quelle für diesen Text: Mitteilung/Projektantrag FEI

PROJEKTLAUFZEIT:

01.11.2021 bis 31.10.2023

PROJEKTFÖRDERUNG:

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Klimaschutz (BMWi) via Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen (AiF)/Forschungskreis der Ernährungsindustrie e.V. (FEI)

FÖRDERKENNZEICHEN:

AiF 22209 BG

PROJEKTLEITUNG:

Alexander Voß (Dipl.-Ing)

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER:

Universität Hohenheim, Technische Universität München, Verband Deutscher Großbäckereien